Click here for the bulletin: 20130804EP

Sermon…………….……………………………… Zechariah 3:1-10

Then he showed me Joshua the high priest standing before the Angel of the Lord, and Satan standing at his right hand to oppose him. And the Lord said to Satan, “The Lord rebuke you, Satan! The Lord who has chosen Jerusalem rebuke you! Is this not a brand plucked from the fire?” Now Joshua was clothed with filthy garments, and was standing before the Angel. Then He answered and spoke to those who stood before Him, saying, “Take away the filthy garments from him.” And to him He said, “See, I have removed your iniquity from you, and I will clothe you with rich robes.” And I said, “Let them put a clean turban on his head.” So they put a clean turban on his head, and they put the clothes on him. And the Angel of the Lord stood by. Then the Angel of the Lord admonished Joshua, saying, “Thus says the Lord of hosts: ‘If you will walk in My ways, And if you will keep My command, Then you shall also judge My house, And likewise have charge of My courts; I will give you places to walk Among these who stand here. ‘Hear, O Joshua, the high priest, You and your companions who sit before you, For they are a wondrous sign; For behold, I am bringing forth My Servant the BRANCH. For behold, the stone That I have laid before Joshua: Upon the stone are seven eyes. Behold, I will engrave its inscription,’ Says the Lord of hosts, ‘And I will remove the iniquity of that land in one day. 10 In that day,’ says the Lord of hosts, ‘Everyone will invite his neighbor Under his vine and under his fig tree.’”

 “Satan Silent!”

ELEVENTH SUNDAY AFTER PENTECOST

Sunday, August 4, 2013

Pre-Service Meditation – Psalm 36, Page 132 In Front Of Hymnal

Opening Hymn 5 – “Lord, Open Thou My Heart to Hear”

The Liturgy (Hymnal, Pages 15-19 – Substitute Hymn 244 v 1-2)

1. Glory be to God the Father,Glory be to God the Son,Glory be to God the Spirit:

Great Jehovah, Three in One!

Glory, glory,

While eternal ages run!

2. Glory be to Him who loved us,Washed us from each spot and stain;Glory be to Him who bought us,

Made us kings with Him to reign!

Glory, glory,

To the Lamb that once was slain!

The Scripture Reading – Zechariah 1:1-14

The Gospel Reading – Luke 19:41-48

The Nicene Creed (Page 22 in Hymnal)

Hymn 430 (v 1-4, 8) – “What Is the World to Me”

Sermon…………….……………………………… Zechariah 3:1-10

Then he showed me Joshua the high priest standing before the Angel of the Lord, and Satan standing at his right hand to oppose him. And the Lord said to Satan, “The Lord rebuke you, Satan! The Lord who has chosen Jerusalem rebuke you! Is this not a brand plucked from the fire?” Now Joshua was clothed with filthy garments, and was standing before the Angel. Then He answered and spoke to those who stood before Him, saying, “Take away the filthy garments from him.” And to him He said, “See, I have removed your iniquity from you, and I will clothe you with rich robes.” And I said, “Let them put a clean turban on his head.” So they put a clean turban on his head, and they put the clothes on him. And the Angel of the Lord stood by. Then the Angel of the Lord admonished Joshua, saying, “Thus says the Lord of hosts: ‘If you will walk in My ways, And if you will keep My command, Then you shall also judge My house, And likewise have charge of My courts; I will give you places to walk Among these who stand here. ‘Hear, O Joshua, the high priest, You and your companions who sit before you, For they are a wondrous sign; For behold, I am bringing forth My Servant the BRANCH. For behold, the stone That I have laid before Joshua: Upon the stone are seven eyes. Behold, I will engrave its inscription,’ Says the Lord of hosts, ‘And I will remove the iniquity of that land in one day. 10 In that day,’ says the Lord of hosts, ‘Everyone will invite his neighbor Under his vine and under his fig tree.’”

 “Satan Silent!”

The Offering of Thankful Hearts

The Communion Liturgy (Hymnal – P 24-28)

The Distribution Of The Sacrament

Because God’s Word presents the reception of this Sacrament as a most intimate expression of spiritual and confessional unity, we ask that only those who have publicly professed such oneness of faith and belief with us by membership at Berea or another CLC church come forward. This is not a judgment of anyone’s faith, but rather an expression of ours. Please speak with pastor if you are seeking a church home or have any questions.

Hymn 306 (v 6-8)“Lord Jesus Christ, Thou hast Prepared”

The Lord’s Prayer

The Closing Hymn 371 – “Jesus, Thy Blood and Righteousness”

Silent Prayer and Announcements

