Click here for the bulletin: 20130811EP

Sermon…………….…………………………………….. Col 1:21-29

                21 And you, who once were alienated and enemies in your mind by wicked works, yet now He has reconciled 22 in the body of His flesh through death, to present you holy, and blameless, and above reproach in His sight— 23 if indeed you continue in the faith, grounded and steadfast, and are not moved away from the hope of the gospel which you heard, which was preached to every creature under heaven, of which I, Paul, became a minister. 24 I now rejoice in my sufferings for you, and fill up in my flesh what is lacking in the afflictions of Christ, for the sake of His body, which is the church, 25 of which I became a minister according to the stewardship from God which was given to me for you, to fulfill the word of God, 26 the mystery which has been hidden from ages and from generations, but now has been revealed to His saints. 27 To them God willed to make known what are the riches of the glory of this mystery among the Gentiles: which is Christ in you, the hope of glory. 28 Him we preach, warning every man and teaching every man in all wisdom, that we may present every man perfect in Christ Jesus. 29 To this end I also labor, striving according to His working which works in me mightily.

Don’t Move!

  • Christ has reconciled you to himself
  • Christ will present you holy, blameless and above reproach

TWELTH SUNDAY AFTER PENTECOST

Sunday, August 11, 2013

Pre-service Meditation Psalm 119:1-8

Opening Hymn 3 – “Lord Jesus Christ, Be Present Now”

Invocation

P: In the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.

C: Amen

Confession and Absolution
(Sung to the tune of Hymn 163 – “The Death of Jesus Christ Our Lord”)

All: ♫ Baptismal waters cover me
as I approach on bended knee;
My Father’s mercy here I plead,
For grievous sins of thought and deed.

I look to Christ upon the tree,
His body broken there for me;
I lay before Him all my sin,
My darkest secrets from within.

Lord, may Your wounded hand impart
Your healing to my broken heart;
Your love alone can form in me
A heart that serves you joyfully.

Pastor: From God’s own mouth comes forth this word;
His shepherd speaks but He is heard;
Through me His hand now stretches out,
Forgiving sin, destroying doubt.

All: ♫ Baptismal waters cover me;
Christ’s wounded hand has set me free.
Held in my Father’s strong embrace;
With joy I praise Him for His grace.

P: In peace let us pray to the Lord!

C: (Spoken): Lord have mercy.

P: For the peace from above and for our salvation let us pray to the Lord.

C: Oh Christ thou Lamb of God, who takest away the sins of the world, have mercy upon us.

P: For the peace of the whole world, for the well-being of the Church of God, and for the unity of all let us pray to the Lord.

C: Oh Christ thou Lamb of God, who takest away the sins of the world, have mercy upon us.

P: For this holy house and for all who offer here their worship and praise let us pray to the Lord.

C: Oh Christ thou Lamb of God, who takest away the sins of the world, grant us your peace.

P: Help, save, comfort, and defend us, gracious Lord.

C: Amen.

Hymn 23 (v 2) – “Hallelujah! Let Praises Ring”

Hallelujah! Let praises ring!
Unto the Lamb of God we sing,
In whom we are elected.
He bought His church with His own blood,
He cleansed her in that blessed flood,
And as His Bride selected.
Holy, holy, Is our union And communion.
His befriending
Gives us joy and peace unending.

Old Testament Lesson:  Genesis 18:1-14

Some 24 years before our Old Testament lesson God called Abraham to leave his country and go to the land He would show him.  God also promised that his descendants would be as numerous as the stars in heaven.  When his wife Sarah did not conceive in the next 11 years, she gave Abraham her maidservant, Hagar, as a surrogate (which was the custom of the day) and Hagar bore Ishmael.   Now, 13 years later God reaffirms His promise to Abraham and Sarah and tells them that they will have a son even though they are well passed child-bearing years.

Gospel Lesson:  Luke 10:38-42

The Gospel lesson is the familiar account of Mary and Martha welcoming Jesus into their home.  As you hear this account again, ask yourself: if Jesus were to come to your home, which sister would you be more like?

The Apostles Creed

I believe in God the Father almighty, Maker of heaven and earth; And in Jesus Christ, his only Son, our Lord, Who was conceived by the Holy Ghost, born of the virgin Mary, suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, dead and buried; He descended into hell; The third day he rose again from the dead; He ascended into heaven And sitteth on the right hand of God the Father almighty; From thence He shall come to judge the quick and the dead. I believe in the Holy Ghost, the holy Christian Church, the communion of saints; the forgiveness of sins; the resurrection of the body and the life everlasting. Amen.

Hymn 370 – “My Hope is Built on Nothing Less”

Sermon…………….…………………………………….. Col 1:21-29

                21 And you, who once were alienated and enemies in your mind by wicked works, yet now He has reconciled 22 in the body of His flesh through death, to present you holy, and blameless, and above reproach in His sight— 23 if indeed you continue in the faith, grounded and steadfast, and are not moved away from the hope of the gospel which you heard, which was preached to every creature under heaven, of which I, Paul, became a minister. 24 I now rejoice in my sufferings for you, and fill up in my flesh what is lacking in the afflictions of Christ, for the sake of His body, which is the church, 25 of which I became a minister according to the stewardship from God which was given to me for you, to fulfill the word of God, 26 the mystery which has been hidden from ages and from generations, but now has been revealed to His saints. 27 To them God willed to make known what are the riches of the glory of this mystery among the Gentiles: which is Christ in you, the hope of glory. 28 Him we preach, warning every man and teaching every man in all wisdom, that we may present every man perfect in Christ Jesus. 29 To this end I also labor, striving according to His working which works in me mightily.

Don’t Move!

  • Christ has reconciled you to himself
  • Christ will present you holy, blameless and above reproach

Hymn 365 (1-3, 5) – “Jesus I Will Never Leave”

The Offering of Thankful Hearts

Prayer and the Lord’s Prayer

Our Father, Who art in heaven. Hallowed be Thy Name. Thy kingdom come. Thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread. And forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us. And lead us not into temptation. But deliver us from evil. For Thine is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever and ever. Amen.

Benediction

The Closing Hymn 53 – “Abide, O Dearest Jesus”

Silent Prayer and Announcements

