Sermon…………………………………………….…Romans 7:14-25

14 For we know that the law is spiritual, but I am of the flesh, sold under sin. 15 For I do not understand my own actions. For I do not do what I want, but I do the very thing I hate. 16 Now if I do what I do not want, I agree with the law, that it is good. 17 So now it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells within me. 18 For I know that nothing good dwells in me, that is, in my flesh. For I have the desire to do what is right, but not the ability to carry it out. 19 For I do not do the good I want, but the evil I do not want is what I keep on doing.20 Now if I do what I do not want, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells within me. 21 So I find it to be a law that when I want to do right, evil lies close at hand. 22 For I delight in the law of God, in my inner being, 23 but I see in my members another law waging war against the law of my mind and making me captive to the law of sin that dwells in my members. 24 Wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death? 25 Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord! So then, I myself serve the law of God with my mind, but with my flesh I serve the law of sin.

Jesus Delivers Us from Our Selves

I. We have two “personalities”

II. The two “persons” desire differing goals

III. There is only one Deliverer

EIGHTEENTH SUNDAY AFTER PENTECOST

Sunday, September 22, 2013

WELCOME in the name of Jesus who delivers us from our selves.

Pre-Service Meditation – Psalm 38, hymnal p.132

Pre-Service prayer:
Lord God, my Father, uplift my soul to the holiness of Your presence that with a pure heart I may worship and adore You with joyful lips. Strengthen the “new me” within which the Sprit has created and enable me to drown the “old sinful me” daily with sorrow over my sin and trust in Jesus as my Savior. Amen.

Word of Truth: “It is God who works in you both to will and to do for His good pleasure.”  Philippians 2:13

Hymn 1 – “Open Now Thy Gates of Beauty”

Invocation

The Confession of Sins

Pastor: In the sin of our first father Adam, all sinned.

Congregation: In his guilt, we are guilty – have mercy Lord. 

P: It was and is now the nature of man to sin,

C: By nature, we, like Adam, are sinful – have mercy Lord. 

P: The effects of sin on the world are as obvious now as they were then.

C: We feel the pain and the blame is ours – have mercy Lord. 

P: As God killed an animal for Adam and Eve so sacrifice after sacrifice was made for sin. It was never enough.

C: Not all the blood of beasts shed through all the years could atone for even of our many sins – have mercy Lord. 

P: But one sacrifice, and only one, was enough. God provided His Son to be the slaughtered lamb.

C: Our sins were so great that God’s only answer was to kill His Son for our transgressions – have mercy Lord.

The Absolution

P: The Lord has had mercy on you. The blood of Jesus is sufficient to cover and wash away all your sins – no matter how great they are. Your works are worthless here and unnecessary. One sacrifice. One perfect payment – and you are free. You are forgiven. Your life in exchange for His! Let this blessed truth be your constant joy and your first defense all the days of your life. Amen.

The Responsive Reading of Psalm 38 (selected verses)

P: O Lord, do not rebuke me in Your wrath,

C: Nor chasten me in Your hot displeasure!

P: There is no soundness in my flesh because of Your anger,

C: Nor any health in my bones because of my sin.

P: For my iniquities have gone over my head;

C: Like a heavy burden they are too heavy for me.

P: In You, O Lord, I hope;

C: You will hear, O Lord my God.

P: Do not forsake me, O Lord;

C: O my God, be not far from me!

P: Make haste to help me,

C: O Lord, my salvation!

P: Glory be to God!

The Old Testament Scripture Reading:  Numbers 21:4-9

The ungrateful complaints of the Israelites led God to send poisonous snakes which killed many. The people repented of their sin. God had Moses erect a bronze serpent and promised that all who looked at the serpent would live. Those who looked at the bronze serpent believing God’s promise were indeed saved. God’s deliverance through the snake was a picture of His much greater deliverance through Jesus (cf. John 3:14ff).

The New Testament Scripture Reading:  Luke 7:36-50

Simon and the other Pharisees despised the woman who came to Jesus. Jesus did not for this woman who had committed known sins, came in repentance to show her love to Jesus for His deliverance. The daily tug o’ war against sin which rages within each one of us, is a regular reminder of how much we need deliverance and how, like the woman, we have reason to be immensely thankful to Jesus.

The Apostles Creed (Page 12 in Hymnal)

I believe in God the Father almighty, Maker of heaven and earth; And in Jesus Christ, his only Son, our Lord, Who was conceived by the Holy Ghost, born of the virgin Mary, suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, dead and buried; He descended into hell; The third day he rose again from the dead; He ascended into heaven And sitteth on the right hand of God the Father almighty; From thence He shall come to judge the quick and the dead. I believe in the Holy Ghost, the holy Christian Church, the communion of saints; the forgiveness of sins; the resurrection of the body and the life everlasting. Amen.

Hymn 751 (Supplement) – “God’s Own Child I Gladly Say It”

Sermon…………………………………………….…Romans 7:14-25

14 For we know that the law is spiritual, but I am of the flesh, sold under sin. 15 For I do not understand my own actions. For I do not do what I want, but I do the very thing I hate. 16 Now if I do what I do not want, I agree with the law, that it is good. 17 So now it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells within me. 18 For I know that nothing good dwells in me, that is, in my flesh. For I have the desire to do what is right, but not the ability to carry it out. 19 For I do not do the good I want, but the evil I do not want is what I keep on doing.20 Now if I do what I do not want, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells within me. 21 So I find it to be a law that when I want to do right, evil lies close at hand. 22 For I delight in the law of God, in my inner being, 23 but I see in my members another law waging war against the law of my mind and making me captive to the law of sin that dwells in my members. 24 Wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death? 25 Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord! So then, I myself serve the law of God with my mind, but with my flesh I serve the law of sin.

Jesus Delivers Us from Our Selves

I. We have two “personalities”

II. The two “persons” desire differing goals

III. There is only one Deliverer

“Create In Me” (Page 12 in Hymnal)

Create in me a clean heart, O God,
and renew a right spirit within me,
Cast me not away from Thy presence;
and take not Thy Holy Spirit from me.
Restore unto me the joy of thy salvation;
and uphold me with Thy free spirit. Amen.

Hymn 409 “Let Us Ever Walk with Jesus”

Offering of Thankful Hearts

The Prayer and Lord’s Prayer

Our Father, Who art in heaven. Hallowed be Thy Name. Thy kingdom come. Thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread. And forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us. And lead us not into temptation. But deliver us from evil. For Thine is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever and ever. Amen.

Benediction Amen

Closing Hymn [TLH 52,309, 644]: “Almighty Father, Bless the Word”

Almighty Father, bless the Word
Which through Thy grace we now have heard,
Oh, may the precious seed take root,
Spring up, and bear abundant fruit!

O Jesus, blessed Lord, to Thee
My heartfelt thanks forever be,
Who hast so lovingly bestowed
On me Thy body and Thy blood.

We praise Thee for the means of grace
As homeward now our steps we trace.
Grant, Lord, that we who worshiped here
May all at last in Heaven appear.

Break forth, my soul, for joy and say
“What wealth is come to me this day!”
My Savior dwells within my heart:
How blest am I! How good Thou art!

Praise God, from whom all blessings flow;
Praise Him, all creatures here below;
Praise Him above, ye heav’nly host:
Praise Father, Son, and Holy Ghost. Amen!

Silent Prayer and Announcements

