The Sermon….………………………………………….  Isaiah 43:1-3

But now, thus says the Lord, who created you, O Jacob, And He who formed you, O Israel: “Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by your name; You are Mine. When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; And through the rivers, they shall not overflow you. When you walk through the fire, you shall not be burned, Nor shall the flame scorch you. For I am the Lord your God, The Holy One of Israel, your Savior; I gave Egypt for your ransom, Ethiopia and Seba in your place.

Fear Not!  The LORD is Your God!

Click here for the bulletin: 20140216EP.pdf

Sixth Sunday After Epiphany

Sunday, February 16, 2014 (9:00 a.m.)

Opening Hymn 7 (v 1-3) – “As We Begin Another Week”

The Invocation, Confession Prayer And Responsive Reading

P: We thank You, Lord, for revealing Yourself to us as the only way to gain forgiveness, peace with God and eternal life in heaven:

C: “Jesus said, I am the Way, the Truth and the Life; No one comes to the Father except through me”….. “Neither is there salvation in anyone else. For there is no other Name under heaven given among men whereby we can be saved“…… “Wide is the gate and broad is the way that leads to destruction, but narrow is the gate and difficult the way that leads to life.” (John 14:6; Acts 4:12; Matthew 7:14).

Thou art the Way; to Thee alone
From sin and death we flee;
And he who would the Father seek
Must seek Him, Lord, by Thee.
[TLH 355 v 1]

P: We thank You, Lord, for revealing Your Truth and Your Love to us in Your holy Word which alone can make us wise unto salvation.

C: “If you continue in My Word, you will be my disciples; And you will know the Truth and the Truth will set you free.”…… “I thank God that when you received the Word, you received it not as the word of men, but as it is in truth – the Word of God.” (John 8:31-32; 1 Thessalonians 2:13)

Thou art the Truth; Thy Word alone
True wisdom can impart;
Thou only canst inform the mind
And purify the heart.
[TLH 355 v 2]

P: We thank You, Lord, for being our Life and for giving us true Life in You and with You, a Life that will never end.

C: “I am the Resurrection and the Life; He who believes in Me will live, even though he dies; And whoever lives and believes in Me will never die.”…… Our Savior Jesus Christ has destroyed death and brought life and immortality to light through the Gospel.” (John 11: 25-26; 2 Timothy 1:10)

Thou art the Life; the rending tomb
Proclaims Thy conquering arm;
And those who put their trust in Thee
Nor death nor hell shall harm.
[TLH 355 v 3]

P: We thank You, Lord, for granting and guarding in us the gift of faith, whereby the blessings of forgiveness, life and salvation become ours for time and eternity through Your saving merits.

C: “For I am not ashamed of the Gospel; For it is the power of God unto salvation to everyone who believes…… Whoever believes and is baptized will be saved; Whoever does not believe will be condemned….. I know Whom I have believed and am convinced that he is able to guard that which I have committed to Him for that day.” (Romans 1:16; Mark 16:16; 2 Timothy 1:12)

Thou art the Way, the Truth, the Life;
Grant us that Way to know,
That Truth to keep, that Life to win,
Whose joys eternal flow.
[TLH 355 v 4]

The Epistle Reading – Romans 4:16-25

In our Epistle reading God reminds us that He fulfills His promises no matter how impossible things may seem for our perspective.  With God, all things are possible! (Matt 19:26, Mark 10:27)

The Gospel Reading – Matthew 14:22-33

In the account of Jesus walking on the water Jesus shows us that He will be with us to see us through the storms of life.

The Apostles Creed (Page 12 in Hymnal)

I believe in God the Father almighty, Maker of heaven and earth; And in Jesus Christ, his only Son, our Lord, Who was conceived by the Holy Ghost, born of the virgin Mary, suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, dead and buried; He descended into hell; The third day he rose again from the dead; He ascended into heaven And sitteth on the right hand of God the Father almighty; From thence He shall come to judge the quick and the dead. I believe in the Holy Ghost, the holy Christian Church, the communion of saints; the forgiveness of sins; the resurrection of the body and the life everlasting. Amen.

Hymn 19 (V 1-3, 6) “All Praise to God, Who Reigns Above”

The Sermon….………………………………………….  Isaiah 43:1-3

But now, thus says the Lord, who created you, O Jacob, And He who formed you, O Israel: “Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by your name; You are Mine. When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; And through the rivers, they shall not overflow you. When you walk through the fire, you shall not be burned, Nor shall the flame scorch you. For I am the Lord your God, The Holy One of Israel, your Savior; I gave Egypt for your ransom, Ethiopia and Seba in your place.

Fear Not!  The LORD is Your God!

• He has redeemed you and called you
• He is with you in every trial

“Create In Me” (Page 12 in Hymnal)

Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me,
Cast me not away from Thy presence; and take not Thy Holy Spirit from me. Restore unto me the joy of thy salvation; and uphold me with Thy free spirit.

Hymn 427 (v 3-5, 7) “How Firm a Foundation, Ye Saints of the Lord”

3. “Fear not, I am with thee, oh, be not dismayed,
For I am thy God and will still give thee aid;
I’ll strengthen thee, help thee, and cause thee to stand,
Upheld by My righteous, omnipotent hand.

4. “When through the deep waters I call thee to go,
The rivers of sorrow shall not overflow;
For I will be with thee thy troubles to bless
And sanctify to thee thy deepest distress.

5. “When through fiery trials thy pathway shall lie,
My grace, all-sufficient, shall be thy supply.
The flames shall not hurt thee; I only design
Thy dross to consume and thy gold to refine.

7. “The soul that on Jesus hath leaned for repose
I will not, I will not, desert to his foes;
That soul, though all hell should endeavor to shake,
I’ll never, no never, no never, forsake!”

The Offering & The Lord’s Prayer

Our Father, Who art in heaven. Hallowed be Thy Name. Thy kingdom come. Thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread. And forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us. And lead us not into temptation. But deliver us from evil. For Thine is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever and ever. Amen.

Benediction ♫ Amen

Closing Hymn 424 – “My God, My Father, Make Me Strong”

Silent Prayer and Announcements

