The Sermon….………………………………….. Colossians 3:12-17

12 Therefore, as the elect of God, holy and beloved, put on tender mercies, kindness, humility, meekness, longsuffering; 13 bearing with one another, and forgiving one another, if anyone has a complaint against another; even as Christ forgave you, so you also must do. 14 But above all these things put on love, which is the bond of perfection. 15 And let the peace of God rule in your hearts, to which also you were called in one body; and be thankful. 16 Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly in all wisdom, teaching and admonishing one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing with grace in your hearts to the Lord. 17 And whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through Him.

FIVE KEYS TO CONTENTMENT!

1)      Accept Jesus’ evaluation!

2)      Heed Jesus’ admonition!

3)      Embrace Jesus’ calling!

4)      Apply Jesus’ word!

5)      Honor Jesus’ name!

Click here for the bulletin: 20140223EP

Seventh Sunday After Epiphany

Sunday, February 23, 2014 (9:00 a.m.)

Pre-Service Meditation:  Psalm 92

Pre-Service Prayer: O Lord God, as I enter into Your presence this day, fill me with holy awe!  Grant that those things I cannot see—Your glorious person, Your grace and forgiveness, Your presence and promises—might become the focus of my desires in life, rather than the materials things that surround me in this world.  Help me to recognize that when I by faith have Jesus, I have everything that I truly need and can then truly be content.  It is in Jesus’ name that I pray.  Amen.

ORDER OF SERVICE

I.  WE PREPARE TO MEET OUR LORD

Hymn 129 – “Hail, Thou Source of Every Blessing”

WELCOME IN THE NAME OF JESUS, WHO TEACHES GODLINESS, BUT BESTOWS CONTENTMENT!

P: In the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.

C: Amen.

Our Confession of Sins

P: Beloved in the Lord!  Let us draw near with a true heart and confess our sins unto God, our Father, beseeching Him in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ to grant us forgiveness. Our help is in the name of the Lord.

C: Who made heaven and earth.

P: I said, I will confess my transgressions unto the Lord.

C: And You forgave the iniquity of my sin.

P: Almighty God, our Maker and Redeemer, we poor sinners confess unto You that we are by nature sinful and unclean and that we have sinned against You by thought, word, and deed.  Therefore we flee for refuge to Your infinite mercy, seeking and imploring Your grace for the sake of our Lord Jesus Christ.

C: O most merciful God, who has given Your only-begotten Son to die for us, have mercy upon us and for His sake grant us remission of all our sins; and by Your Holy Spirit increase in us true knowledge of You and of Your will and true obedience to Your Word, to the end that by Your grace we may come to everlasting life; through Jesus Christ, our Lord.  Amen.

P: Almighty God, our Heavenly Father, has had mercy upon us and has given His only Son to die for us, and for His sake forgives us all our sins.  To all who believe on His name He gives the privilege of being children of God and has promised them His Holy Spirit.  He that believes and is baptized shall be saved.  Grant this, Lord, unto us all.

C: Amen.

II.  WE PRAISE OUR LORD

Responsive Reading: Psalm 92:1-2, 13-14

P: It is good to give thanks to the LORD:

C: To sing praises to Your name, O Most High!

P: To declare Your lovingkindness in the morning:

C: And Your faithfulness every night.

P: Those who are planted in the house of the LORD:

C: Shall flourish in the courts of our God.

P: They shall still bear fruit in old age:

C: They shall be fresh and flourishing.

P: Glory be to God!

C: Glory be to the Father and to the Son and to the Holy Ghost; as it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be, forevermore.  Amen.

Lord, have mercy upon us. Christ, have mercy upon us.
Lord, have mercy upon us.

O God of God, O Light of Light, O Prince of Peace and King of kings;
To You in heaven’s glory bright The song of praise forever rings,
To Him who sits upon the throne, The Lamb once slain but raised again,
Be all the glory He has won, All thanks and praise! Amen, amen.

Then raise to Christ a mighty song,  And shout His name, His mercies tell!
Sing, heav’nly host, your praise prolong, And all on earth, your anthem swell!
All hail, O Lamb for sinners slain! Forever let the song ascend!
Worthy the Lamb, enthroned to reign, All glory, pow’r! Amen, amen.

P:  The Lord be with you.

C: And with your spirit.

P:  Let us pray.

C: Amen.

III.  OUR LORD SPEAKS TO US

The Epistle Reading – Ephesians 4:11-16

            Jesus has given gifts to His Church in the form of His Word and individuals to share that Word, so that all the members of the Church might grow strong together in faith, knowledge, and love!

11 And He Himself gave some to be apostles, some prophets, some evangelists, and some pastors and teachers, 12 for the equipping of the saints for the work of ministry, for the edifying of the body of Christ, 13 till we all come to the unity of the faith and of the knowledge of the Son of God, to a perfect man, to the measure of the stature of the fullness of Christ; 14 that we should no longer be children, tossed to and fro and carried about with every wind of doctrine, by the trickery of men, in the cunning craftiness of deceitful plotting,15 but, speaking the truth in love, may grow up in all things into Him who is the head—Christ— 16 from whom the whole body, joined and knit together by what every joint supplies, according to the effective working by which every part does its share, causes growth of the body for the edifying of itself in love.

The Gospel Reading – Mark 4:26-29

            Farmers sow seeds.  Those seeds sprout, grow, and produce fruit.  We do not necessarily know how, but we can see the fruit that results. Even so the Spirit plants the Word of God within our hearts and the fruits of faith are evident as a harvest to the Lord! 

26 And He said, “The kingdom of God is as if a man should scatter seed on the ground, 27 and should sleep by night and rise by day, and the seed should sprout and grow, he himself does not know how. 28 For the earth yields crops by itself: first the blade, then the head, after that the full grain in the head. 29 But when the grain ripens, immediately he puts in the sickle, because the harvest has come.”

The Apostles Creed (Page 12 in Hymnal)

I believe in God the Father almighty, Maker of heaven and earth; And in Jesus Christ, his only Son, our Lord, Who was conceived by the Holy Ghost, born of the virgin Mary, suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, dead and buried; He descended into hell; The third day he rose again from the dead; He ascended into heaven And sitteth on the right hand of God the Father almighty; From thence He shall come to judge the quick and the dead. I believe in the Holy Ghost, the holy Christian Church, the communion of saints; the forgiveness of sins; the resurrection of the body and the life everlasting. Amen.

Hymn 348 – “Jesus, Jesus, Only Jesus”

The Sermon….………………………………….. Colossians 3:12-17

12 Therefore, as the elect of God, holy and beloved, put on tender mercies, kindness, humility, meekness, longsuffering; 13 bearing with one another, and forgiving one another, if anyone has a complaint against another; even as Christ forgave you, so you also must do. 14 But above all these things put on love, which is the bond of perfection. 15 And let the peace of God rule in your hearts, to which also you were called in one body; and be thankful. 16 Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly in all wisdom, teaching and admonishing one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing with grace in your hearts to the Lord. 17 And whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through Him.

FIVE KEYS TO CONTENTMENT!

1)      Accept Jesus’ evaluation!

2)      Heed Jesus’ admonition!

3)      Embrace Jesus’ calling!

4)      Apply Jesus’ word!

5)      Honor Jesus’ name!

IV.  WE OFFER OURSELVES TO OUR LORD

 “Create In Me” (Page 12 in Hymnal)

Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me,
Cast me not away from Thy presence; and take not Thy Holy Spirit from me.
Restore unto me the joy of thy salvation; and uphold me with Thy free spirit.

Hymn 412 – “May We Thy Precepts, Lord, Fulfill”

1. May we Thy precepts, Lord, fulfil  And do on earth our Father’s will
As angels do above; Still walk in Christ, the living Way,
With all Thy children and obey The law of Christian love.

2. So may we join Thy name to bless, Thy grace adore, Thy power confess,
From sin and strife to flee. One is our calling, one our name,
The end of all our hopes the same, A crown of life with Thee.

3. Spirit of Life, of Love, and Peace, Unite our hearts, our joy increase,
Thy gracious help supply. To each of us the blessing give
In Christian fellowship to live, In joyful hope to die.

Offering of Thankful Hearts

V. OUR LORD BLESSES US!

Benediction ♫ Amen

Closing Hymn 196 (v 1-3, 5): “I Am Content!  My Jesus Liveth Still”

1. I am content! My Jesus liveth still, In whom my heart is pleased.
He hath fulfilled the Law of God for me, God’s wrath He hath appeased.
Since He in death could perish never, I also shall not die forever.
I am content!

2. I am content! My Jesus is my Head; His member I will be.
He bowed His head when on the cross He died With cries of agony.
Now death is brought into subjection  For me, too, by His resurrection.
I am content!

3. I am content! My Jesus is my Lord, My Prince of Life and Peace;
His heart is yearning for my future bliss And for my soul’s release.
The home where He, my Master, liveth He also to His servant giveth.
I am content!

5. I am content! Lord, draw me unto Thee And wake me from the dead
That I may rise forevermore to be With Thee, my living Head.
The fetters of my body sever, Then shall my soul rejoice forever.
I am content!

Silent Prayer and Announcements

