The Sermon….……………………….………………  Isaiah 61:10-11

I will greatly rejoice in the Lord, My soul shall be joyful in my God; For He has clothed me with the garments of salvation, He has covered me with the robe of righteousness, As a bridegroom decks himself with ornaments, And as a bride adorns herself with her jewels. 11 For as the earth brings forth its bud, As the garden causes the things that are sown in it to spring forth, So the Lord God will cause righteousness and praise to spring forth before all the nations.

I will rejoice in my God…Because:

1. He has clothed me.

2. He causes me to grow. 

First Sunday In Lent

Sunday, March 9, 2014 (9:00 a.m.)

Opening Hymn 149 – “Come to Calvary’s Holy Mountain”

Confession and Absolution……………..…. LSB Setting 4: pg 184ff

The Scripture Readings – Philippians 4:4-9 & Matthew 22:1-14

The Apostles Creed (Page 12 in Hymnal)

I believe in God the Father almighty, Maker of heaven and earth; And in Jesus Christ, his only Son, our Lord, Who was conceived by the Holy Ghost, born of the virgin Mary, suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, dead and buried; He descended into hell; The third day he rose again from the dead; He ascended into heaven And sitteth on the right hand of God the Father almighty; From thence He shall come to judge the quick and the dead. I believe in the Holy Ghost, the holy Christian Church, the communion of saints; the forgiveness of sins; the resurrection of the body and the life everlasting. Amen.

Hymn 388 (V 1-2, 5-6) “Just as I Am, without One Plea”

The Sermon….……………………….………………  Isaiah 61:10-11

I will greatly rejoice in the Lord, My soul shall be joyful in my God; For He has clothed me with the garments of salvation, He has covered me with the robe of righteousness, As a bridegroom decks himself with ornaments, And as a bride adorns herself with her jewels. 11 For as the earth brings forth its bud, As the garden causes the things that are sown in it to spring forth, So the Lord God will cause righteousness and praise to spring forth before all the nations.

I will rejoice in my God…Because:

1. He has clothed me.

2. He causes me to grow. 

 “Create In Me” (P 192 in LSB & P 22 in TLH)

Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me,
Cast me not away from Thy presence; and take not Thy Holy Spirit from me.
Restore unto me the joy of Thy salvation; and uphold me with Thy free spirit.

Hymn: “In the Shattered Bliss of Eden” [LSB 572:1-3]

The Offering & The Lord’s Prayer

Our Father, Who art in heaven. Hallowed be Thy Name. Thy kingdom come. Thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread. And forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us. And lead us not into temptation. But deliver us from evil. For Thine is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever and ever. Amen.

Benediction ♫ Amen

Closing Hymn 371“Jesus, Thy Blood and Righteousness”

1. Jesus, Thy blood and righteousness My beauty are, my glorious dress;
Midst flaming worlds, in these arrayed, With joy shall I lift up my head.

2. Bold shall I stand in that great Day, For who aught to my charge shall lay?
Fully through these absolved I am From sin and fear, from guilt and shame.

3. The holy, meek, unspotted Lamb, Who from the Father’s bosom came,
Who died for me, e’en me t’atone, Now for my Lord and God I own.

4. Lord, I believe Thy precious blood, Which at the mercy-seat of God
Forever doth for sinners plead, For me–e’en for my soul–was shed.

5. Lord, I believe were sinners more Than sands upon the ocean shore,
Thou hast for all a ransom paid, For all a full atonement made.

6. When from the dust of death I rise To claim my mansion in the skies,
E’en then, this shall be all my plea: Jesus hath lived and died for me.

7. Jesus, be endless praise to Thee, Whose boundless mercy hath for me,
For me, and all Thy hands have made, An everlasting ransom paid.

Silent Prayer and Announcements

