The Sermon: Isaiah 44:1-6

“Yet hear now, O Jacob My servant, And Israel whom I have chosen. Thus says the Lord who made you And formed you from the womb,whowill help you: ‘Fear not, O Jacob My servant; And you, Jeshurun, whom I have chosen. For I will pour water on him who is thirsty, And floods on the dry ground; I will pour My Spirit on your descendants, And My blessing on your offspring; They will spring up among the grass Like willows by the watercourses.’ One will say, ‘I am the Lord’s’; Another will call himself by the name of Jacob; Another will write with his hand, ‘The Lord’s,’ And name himself by the name of Israel. (NKJV)

I WILL POUR WATER ON THE THIRSTY LAND

Part 1: The thirsty land

Part 2: The outpouring and resultant growth

Pentecost Sunday

Sunday, June 8, 2014 (9:00 a.m.)

Opening Hymn 21 – “Jehovah, Let Me Now Adore Thee”

The Liturgy Pages 5-11 (Substituting Hymn 244, V 1-2) for “Gloria In Excelsis”

First Scripture Lesson: Acts 2:1-21 (Printed on Back)

(On the day of Pentecost, in fulfillment of Jesus’ promise—and other prophecies such as that of the prophet Joel—the third person of the Holy Trinity was poured out in undeniable fashion, giving the apostles the ability to proclaim the wonderful works of God in many different languages. As we hear in the sermon text today, the “thirsty land was abundantly watered” by the Spirit’s outpouring.)

Second Scripture Lesson: John 15:26-27 (Printed on Back)

(This brief Gospel lesson is the Savior’s promising to send the “Helper” and the “Spirit of truth” whose primary aim and goal would always be to testify of Jesus as Savior for all.)

Our Pentecost Profession of Faith

(Luther’s Explanation to The Third Article)

I believe that I cannot by my own thinking or choosing believe in Jesus Christ, my Lord, or come to Him. But the Holy Ghost has called me by the Gospel, enlightened me with His gifts, sanctified and kept me in the true faith. In the same way He calls, gathers, enlightens and sanctifies the whole Christian church on earth, and keeps it with Jesus Christ in the one true faith. In this Christian church he daily and fully forgives all sins to me and all believers. On the Last Day He will raise me and all the dead; And He will give eternal life to me and all believers in Christ. This is most certainly true.

Hymn 503 (LSB) “O Day Full of Grace”

The Sermon..……………………………………………….. Isaiah 44:1-6

“Yet hear now, O Jacob My servant, And Israel whom I have chosen. Thus says the Lord who made you And formed you from the womb,whowill help you: ‘Fear not, O Jacob My servant; And you, Jeshurun, whom I have chosen. For I will pour water on him who is thirsty, And floods on the dry ground; I will pour My Spirit on your descendants, And My blessing on your offspring; They will spring up among the grass Like willows by the watercourses.’ One will say, ‘I am the Lord’s’; Another will call himself by the name of Jacob; Another will write with his hand, ‘The Lord’s,’ And name himself by the name of Israel. (NKJV)

I WILL POUR WATER ON THE THIRSTY LAND

Part 1: The thirsty land

Part 2: The outpouring and resultant growth

Hymn 226 v 1-7 – “Come, Oh, Come, Thou Quickening Spirit”

1. Come, oh, come, Thou quickening Spirit, God from all eternity!
May Thy power never fail us; Dwell within us constantly.
Then shall truth and life and light Banish all the gloom of night.

2. Grant our hearts in fullest measure Wisdom, counsel, purity,
That they ever may be seeking Only that which pleaseth Thee.
Let Thy knowledge spread and grow, Working error’s overthrow.

3. Show us, Lord, the path of blessing; When we trespass on our way,
Cast, O Lord, our sins behind Thee And be with us day by day.
Should we stray, O Lord, recall; Work repentance when we fall.

4. With our spirit bear Thou witness That we are the sons of God
Who rely upon Him solely When we pass beneath the rod;
For we know, as children should, That the cross is for our good.

5. Prompt us, Lord, to come before Him With a childlike heart to pray;
Sigh in us, O Holy Spirit, When we know not what to say.
Then our prayer is not in vain, And our faith new strength shall gain.

6. If our soul can find no comfort And despondency grows strong
That the heart cries out in anguish: “O my God, how long, how long?”
Comfort then the aching breast, Grant us courage, patience, rest.

7. Holy Spirit, strong and mighty. Thou who makest all things new,
Make Thy work within us perfect And the evil Foe subdue.
Grant us weapons for the strife And with victory crown our life.

The Offering

Our Pentecost Prayer

The Lord’s Prayer

Our Father, Who art in heaven. Hallowed be Thy Name. Thy kingdom come. Thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread. And forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us. And lead us not into temptation. But deliver us from evil. For Thine is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever and ever. Amen.

Benediction ♫ Amen, Amen, Amen

Closing Hymn 226 v 8-9 “Guard, O God, our faith forever”

8. Guard, O God, our faith forever; Let not Satan, death, or shame
Ever part us from our Savior; Lord our Refuge is Thy name.
Though our flesh cry ever: Nay! Be Thy Word to us still Yea!

9. And when life’s frail thread is breaking. Then assure us more and more,
As the heirs of life unending, Of the glory there in store,
Glory never yet expressed, Glory of the saints at rest.

Silent Prayer and Announcements

