The Sermon: Deuteronomy 6:4-13

“Hear, O Israel: The Lord our God, the Lord is one! You shall love theLordyour God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your strength. “And these words which I command you today shall be in your heart.You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, when you walk by the way, when you lie down, and when you rise up. You shall bind them as a sign on your hand, and they shall be as frontlets between your eyes.You shall write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates. 10 “So it shall be, when theLord your God brings you into the land of which He swore to your fathers, to Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob, to give you large and beautiful cities which you did not build,11 houses full of all good things, which you did not fill, hewn-out wells which you did not dig, vineyards and olive trees which you did not plant—when you have eaten and are full—12 then beware, lest you forget theLordwho brought you out of the land of Egypt, from the house of bondage.13 You shall fear the Lord your God and serve Him, and shall take oaths in His name.

Love the Lord Your God – Remember His Words and His Many Blessings

Click here for the bulletin

Second Sunday After Pentecost

Sunday, June 22, 2014 (9:00 a.m.)

Opening Hymn 2 – “To Thy Temple I Repair”

The Invocation And Confessional Prayer

C: Lord, to Thee I make confession; I have sinned and gone astray.
I have multiplied transgression, Chosen for myself my way.
Led by Thee to see my errors,  Lord, I tremble at Thy terrors.

Yet, Thy Son did suffer for me,  Gave Himself to rescue me,
Died to heal me and restore me,  Reconciled me unto Thee.
‘Tis alone His cross can vanquish  My dark fears & soothe my anguish.

Then on Him I cast my burden,  Sink it in the depths below.
Let me know Thy gracious pardon, Wash me, make me white as snow.
Let Thy Spirit leave me never;  Make me only Thine forever.

God’s Absolution (Assurance Of Forgiveness)

The Responsive Reading Of Psalm 91

P: He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty.

C: I will say of the Lord, “He is my Refuge and my fortress, my God in Whom I trust.”

P: You will not fear the terror of night nor the arrow that flies by day, nor the pestilence or plague that seeks to destroy.

C: He will cover me with His feathers, and under His wings I will find refuge; His faithfulness shall me my shield and rampart.

Are we weary, Are we troubled, Are we sore distressed?
“Come to Me”, says One, “and coming,  be at rest.”

Hath He marks to lead me to Him  If He be my Guide?
In His feet and hands are wound prints,  And His side.

Savior, Shepherd, ever near us, In Thy love we stand;
Guard, protect us, ever cheer us, By Thy Hand.  
[Melody TLH 428]

P: If you make the Most High your dwelling – even the Lord, Who is your Refuge – then no harm will befall you, no disaster will come near your tent.

C: For He will command His angels concerning you, to guard you in all your ways; They will lift you up in their hands, lest you dash your foot against a stone.

P: “Because He loves me,” says the Lord, “I will rescue him; I will protect him, for he confesses My Name.”

C: “He will call upon Me and I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble; I will deliver him and honor him. With long life I will satisfy him and show him My salvation.”

Finding, following, keeping, struggling,  Is He sure to bless?
Saints, apostles, prophets, martyrs,  Answer, “Yes.”

If I ask Him to receive me,  Will He say me nay?
“Not till earth and not till heaven  Pass away.”

If I still hold closely to Him,  What hath He at last?
“Sorrow vanquished, labor ended, Jordan passed.”

The Epistle Reading: I John 4:16-21

God is Love, we love Him because He first loved us!

The Gospel Reading: Luke 16:19-31

The parable of the rich man and poor Lazarus – Jesus points out the importance of hearing and heeding God’s Holy Word in our lives.

The Apostles Creed (Page 12 in Hymnal)

I believe in God the Father almighty, Maker of heaven and earth; And in Jesus Christ, his only Son, our Lord, Who was conceived by the Holy Ghost, born of the virgin Mary, suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, dead and buried; He descended into hell; The third day he rose again from the dead; He ascended into heaven And sitteth on the right hand of God the Father almighty; From thence He shall come to judge the quick and the dead. I believe in the Holy Ghost, the holy Christian Church, the communion of saints; the forgiveness of sins; the resurrection of the body and the life everlasting. Amen.

Hymn 293 – “O Holy Spirit, Grant Us Grace”

The Sermon..………………………………………… Deuteronomy 6:4-13

“Hear, O Israel: The Lord our God, the Lord is one! You shall love theLordyour God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your strength. “And these words which I command you today shall be in your heart.You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, when you walk by the way, when you lie down, and when you rise up. You shall bind them as a sign on your hand, and they shall be as frontlets between your eyes.You shall write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates. 10 “So it shall be, when theLord your God brings you into the land of which He swore to your fathers, to Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob, to give you large and beautiful cities which you did not build,11 houses full of all good things, which you did not fill, hewn-out wells which you did not dig, vineyards and olive trees which you did not plant—when you have eaten and are full—12 then beware, lest you forget theLordwho brought you out of the land of Egypt, from the house of bondage.13 You shall fear the Lord your God and serve Him, and shall take oaths in His name.

Love the Lord Your God – Remember His Words and His Many Blessings

“Create In Me” (Page 12 in Hymnal)

Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me,
Cast me not away from Thy presence; and take not Thy Holy Spirit from me.
Restore unto me the joy of thy salvation; and uphold me with Thy free spirit.

Hymn 297 “The Gospel Shows the Father’s Grace”

The Offering, Our Prayer And The Lord’s Prayer

Our Father, Who art in heaven. Hallowed be Thy Name. Thy kingdom come. Thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread. And forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us. And lead us not into temptation. But deliver us from evil. For Thine is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever and ever. Amen.

Benediction ♫ Amen, Amen, Amen

Closing Hymn 355 “Thou Art the Way; to Thee Alone”

Silent Prayer and Announcements

