The Sermon: Matthew 14: 1 – 12

At that time Herod the tetrarch heard of the fame of Jesus, And said unto his servants, This is John the Baptist; he is risen from the dead; and therefore mighty works do show forth themselves in him.   For Herod had laid hold on John, and bound him, and put him in prison for Herodias’ sake, his brother Philip’s wife.  For John said unto him, It is not lawful for thee to have her.  And when he would have put him to death, he feared the multitude, because they counted him as a prophet.   But when Herod’s birthday was kept, the daughter of Herodias danced before them, and pleased Herod.   Whereupon he promised with an oath to give her whatsoever she would ask.   And she, being before instructed of her mother, said, Give me here John Baptist’s head in a charger.   And the king was sorry: nevertheless for the oath’s sake, and them which sat with him at meat, he commanded it to be given her.   And he sent, and beheaded John in the prison.   And his head was brought in a charger, and given to the damsel: and she brought it to her mother.   And his disciples came, and took up the body, and buried it, and went and told Jesus.

JESUS’ WORDS AND WORKS ALWAYS CREATE A REACTION

1.  An unholy fear of Jesus

2.  A healthy respect for Jesus

Click here for the bulletin

Third Sunday In Trinity

Sunday, July 6, 2014 (9:00 a.m.)

Opening Hymn 20 – “God of Mercy, God of Grace”

♫ 1. God of mercy, God of grace, Show the brightness of Thy face;
Shine upon us, Savior, shine, Fill Thy church with light divine,
And Thy saving health extend Unto earth’s remotest end.

2. Let the people praise Thee, Lord! Be by all that live adored;
Let the nations shout and sing Glory to their Savior King,
At Thy feet their tribute pay, And Thy holy will obey.

3. Let the people praise Thee, Lord! Earth shall then her fruits afford,
God to man His blessing give, Man to God devoted live;
All below and all above One in joy and light and love.

Liturgy………………………………………….……Pg 15 in Hymnal

P: In the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Ghost
C: Amen.

P: Beloved in the Lord! Let us draw near with a true heart and confess our sins unto God our Father,beseeching Him in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ to grant us forgiveness.Our Help is in the name of the Lord.

C: Who made heaven and earth. 

P: I said, I will confess my transgressions unto the Lord.

C: And Thou forgavest the iniquity of my sin. 

P: Almighty God, our Maker and Redeemer, we poor sinners confess unto Thee that we are by nature sinful and unclean, and that we have sinned against Thee by thought, word, and deed.Wherefore we flee for refuge to Thine infinite mercy, seeking and imploring Thy grace for the sake of our Lord Jesus Christ.

C: O most merciful God, who has given Thine only begotten Son to die for us, have mercy upon us and for His sake grant us remission of all our sins; and by the Holy Spirit increase in us true knowledge of Thee and of Thy will and true obedience to Thy Word, to the end, that by Thy grace we may come to everlasting life; through Jesus Christ, our Lord. Amen.

P: Almighty God our heavenly Father, hath had mercy upon us and hath given His only Son to die for us and for His sake forgiveth us all our sins. To them that believe on His name He giveth the power to become sons of God and hath promised them His Holy Spirit. He that believeth and is baptized shall be saved. Grant this, Lord, unto us all.

C: Amen

The Scripture Reading – Micah 7:18- 20:

If we confess our sin, God is faithful and just to forgive us our sin.

The Nicene Creed (Page 22 in Hymnal)

I believe in one God, the Father Almighty, Maker of heaven and earth, and of all things visible and invisible.

And in one Lord Jesus Christ, the only-begotten Son of God, begotten of His Father before all worlds; God of God, Light of Light, very God of very God; begotten, not made, being of one substance with the Father, by whom all things were made. Who, for us men and for our salvation, came down from heaven, and was incarnate by the Holy Ghost of the virgin Mary, and was made man; and was crucified also for us under Pontius Pilate; He suffered and was buried; and the third day He rose again, according to the Scriptures; and ascended into heaven, and sitteth on the right hand of the Father; and He shall come again, with glory, to judge both the quick and the dead; whose kingdom shall have no end.

And I believe in the Holy Ghost, the Lord and Giver of Life; who proceedeth from the Father and the Son; who with the Father and the Son together is worshipped and glorified; who spake by the prophets. And I believe one holy Christian and Apostolic Church. I acknowledge one Baptism for the remission of sins; and I look for the resurrection of the dead, and the life of the world to come. Amen.

Hymn 472 – “Rise, Ye Children of Salvation”

1. Rise, ye children of salvation, All who cleave to Christ, the Head.
Wake, arise, O mighty nation, Ere the Foe on Zion tread.
He draws nigh and would defy All the hosts of God Most High.

2. Saints and heroes long before us Firmly on this ground have stood;
See their banner waving o’er us, Conquerors through the Savior’s blood.
Ground we hold whereon of old Fought the faithful and the bold.

3. Fighting, we shall be victorious By the blood of Christ, our Lord;
On our foreheads, bright and glorious, Shines the witness of His Word;
Spear and shield on battle-field, His great name we cannot yield.

 

The Sermon…………………………………………………….. Matthew 14: 1 – 12

At that time Herod the tetrarch heard of the fame of Jesus, And said unto his servants, This is John the Baptist; he is risen from the dead; and therefore mighty works do show forth themselves in him.   For Herod had laid hold on John, and bound him, and put him in prison for Herodias’ sake, his brother Philip’s wife.  For John said unto him, It is not lawful for thee to have her.  And when he would have put him to death, he feared the multitude, because they counted him as a prophet.   But when Herod’s birthday was kept, the daughter of Herodias danced before them, and pleased Herod.   Whereupon he promised with an oath to give her whatsoever she would ask.   And she, being before instructed of her mother, said, Give me here John Baptist’s head in a charger.   And the king was sorry: nevertheless for the oath’s sake, and them which sat with him at meat, he commanded it to be given her.   And he sent, and beheaded John in the prison.   And his head was brought in a charger, and given to the damsel: and she brought it to her mother.   And his disciples came, and took up the body, and buried it, and went and told Jesus.

JESUS’ WORDS AND WORKS ALWAYS CREATE A REACTION

1.  An unholy fear of Jesus

2.  A healthy respect for Jesus

Hymn 350 – “Jesus, the Very Thought of Thee”

Our Gifts of Faith And Love For Jesus

Personal Preparation for Holy Communion[CW pg 156]

Q: What does God tell me about myself in his holy Word?

A: He says that I am a sinner and deserve only his punishment.

Q: What should I do if I am not aware of my sins or am not troubled by them?

A: I should examine myself according to the Ten Commandments and ask how well I have carried out my responsibilities as a husband or wife or single person, as a parent or child, an employer or employee, a teacher or student. Have I loved God with all my heart, gladly heard his Word, and patiently endured affliction? Have I been disobedient, proud, or unforgiving?  Have I been selfish, lazy, envious, or quarrelsome? Have I lied or deceived, taken something not mine, or given anyone a bad name? Have I abused my body or permitted indecent thoughts to linger in my mind? Have I failed to do what is right and good?

Q: When I realize that I have sinned against God and deserve his punishment, what should I do?

A: I will confess before God all my sins, those which I remember as well as those of which I am unaware. I will pray to God for his mercy and forgiveness.

Q: How do I receive his gracious forgiveness?

A: His Word assures me that Jesus led a pure and holy life for me and died on the cross for me to pay the full price for all my sins. Through faith in Jesus, I have been clothed in my Savior’s perfect righteousness and holiness.

Q: What further assurance do I have that Jesus is mine and I am his?

A: In Holy Communion he gives me his body and blood together with the bread and wine as a truly life-giving food and drink to unite me with him and my fellow believers. By means of this sacrament, Jesus not only forgives my sins but sweeps away all my doubts about his love for me, gives me his own strength to live a God-pleasing life, and grants me a joyful foretaste of heaven.

Q: How can I be sure that I receive all these blessings in the Lord’s Supper?

A: I have his own word spoken as his last will and testament on the night before he died. There he tells me: “Take and eat; this is my body. Drink from it, all of you; this is my blood which is poured out for you for the forgiveness of sins. Do this in remembrance of me.”

Q: How will I respond to this priceless gift from Jesus?

A: I will daily thank and praise him for his love to me. With his help I will fight temptation, do my best to correct whatever wrongs I have done, and serve him and those around me with love and good works.

C: Lord Jesus, with joy and gratitude I now come to your table to receive the precious food of your life-giving body and blood. May it strengthen me to remain in You as You remain in me, so that I bear much fruit in devoted service to You and in acts of kindness to others. Amen.

The Consecration Of The Elements

The Distribution of the Lord’s Supper

(Because God’s Word presents the reception of this Sacrament as a most intimate expression of spiritual and confessional unity, we ask that only those who have publicly professed such oneness of faith and belief with us by membership at Berea or another CLC church come forward. Please speak with pastor if you are seeking a church home or have any questions.)

Our Prayer And The Lord’s Prayer

Our Father, Who art in heaven. Hallowed be Thy Name. Thy kingdom come. Thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread. And forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us. And lead us not into temptation. But deliver us from evil. For Thine is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever and ever. Amen.

Benediction ♫ Amen, Amen, Amen

Hymn 48 “How Blest Are They Who Hear God’s Word”

1. How blest are they who hear God’s Word
And keep and heed what they have heard!
They wisdom daily gather;
Their light shines brighter day by day,
And while they tread life’s weary way,
They have the oil of gladness
To soothe their pain and sadness.

2. God’s Word a treasure is to me,
Through sorrow’s night my sun shall be,
The shield of faith in battle.
The Father’s hand hath written there
My title as His child and heir,
“The kingdom’s thine forever.”
That promise faileth never.

3. Today I was my Savior’s guest, My soul was here so richly blest,
The Bread of Life receiving. Oh, may thereby my faith prevail,
So that its fruits shall never fail Till my account is given
Before the throne in heaven!

Silent Prayer and Announcements

