The Sermon: John 7:37-39 (NKJV)

37 On the last day, that great day of the feast, Jesus stood and cried out, saying, “If anyone thirsts, let him come to Me and drink. 38 He who believes in Me, as the Scripture has said, out of his heart will flow rivers of living water.” 39 But this He spoke concerning the Spirit, whom those believing in Him would receive; for the Holy Spirit was not yet given, because Jesus was not yet glorified.

Our Savior Freely Gives the Living Water!

  1. Flowing for all thirsty sinners
  2. Flowing from all filled believers

Click here for the bulletin

Fifth Sunday After Pentecost

Sunday, July 13, 2014 (9:00 a.m.)

Opening Hymn 281 – “The Savior Calls, Let Every Ear

5. Dear Savior, draw reluctant hearts; To Thee let sinners fly
And take the bliss Thy love imparts And drink and never die.

The Invocation And Our Confessional Prayer

C: Holy and merciful Father, I confess that I am by nature sinful and that I have disobeyed You in my thoughts, words and actions. I have done what is evil and failed to do what is good. For this I deserve Your punishment both now and in eternity. But I am truly sorry for my sins and, trusting in my Savior Jesus Christ, I pray: Lord, have mercy on me, a sinner.

The Absolution

P: God gave His Word so “that you may believe that Jesus is the Christ, the Son of God, and that by believing you may have life in His Name” (John 20:31). The Scriptures testify about Jesus, Who lived a perfect life for you, died on the cross to pay for all your sins, and rose again to assure you of your salvation. Therefore, as a called servant of Christ and by His authority, I forgive you all your sins in the Name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.

P: O Lord, open Thou my lips.
C: And my mouth shall show forth Thy praise

P: Makes haste O God, to deliver me.
C: Make haste to help me, O Lord.

Glory be to the Father and to the Son And to the Holy Ghost;
As it was in the beginning, is now, And ever shall be, world without end.  Amen. Hallelujah!

The Scripture Reading – Isaiah 44:1-6

Israel was God’s special, chosen people, and He promised great blessings on them and their descendants. These blessings are not limited to them, but
others “will take the name Israel” as well, and receive God’s blessings and
forgiveness.

The Scripture Reading – Hebrews 8:8-12

God describes the New covenant He makes with His people. Even when men were faithless and turned away from Him, He never turned His back on them.

The Apostles Creed (Page 12 in Hymnal)

I believe in God the Father almighty, Maker of heaven and earth; And in Jesus Christ, his only Son, our Lord, Who was conceived by the Holy Ghost, born of the virgin Mary, suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, dead and buried; He descended into hell; The third day he rose again from the dead; He ascended into heaven And sitteth on the right hand of God the Father almighty; From thence He shall come to judge the quick and the dead. I believe in the Holy Ghost, the holy Christian Church, the communion of saints; the forgiveness of sins; the resurrection of the body and the life everlasting. Amen.

Hymn 525 – “As Pants The Hart for Cooling Streams”

1. As pants the hart for cooling streams When heated in the chase,
So longs my soul, O God, for Thee And Thy refreshing grace.

2. For Thee, my God, the living God, My thirsty soul doth pine;
Oh, when shall I behold Thy face, Thou Majesty Divine?

3. Why restless, why cast down, my soul? Hope still; and thou shalt sing
The praise of Him who is thy God, Thy health’s eternal Spring.

4. To Father, Son, and Holy Ghost, The God whom we adore,
Be glory as it was, is now, And shall be evermore.

The Sermon..……………………………..……… John 7:37-39 (NKJV)

37 On the last day, that great day of the feast, Jesus stood and cried out, saying, “If anyone thirsts, let him come to Me and drink. 38 He who believes in Me, as the Scripture has said, out of his heart will flow rivers of living water.” 39 But this He spoke concerning the Spirit, whom those believing in Him would receive; for the Holy Spirit was not yet given, because Jesus was not yet glorified.

Our Savior Freely Gives the Living Water!

  1. Flowing for all thirsty sinners
  2. Flowing from all filled believers

“Create In Me” (Page 12 in Hymnal)

Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me, 

Cast me not away from Thy presence; and take not Thy Holy Spirit from me.
Restore unto me the joy of thy salvation; and uphold me with Thy free spirit.

Hymn 277 – “I Heard the Voice of Jesus Say”

The Offering, Our Prayer And The Lord’s Prayer

Our Father, Who art in heaven. Hallowed be Thy Name. Thy kingdom come. Thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread. And forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us. And lead us not into temptation. But deliver us from evil. For Thine is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever and ever. Amen.

Benediction ♫ Amen, Amen, Amen

Hymn 54 “Guide Me, O Thou Great Jehovah”

Silent Prayer and Announcements

