The Sermon: Romans 4:13-25 (NKJV)

13 For the promise that he would be the heir of the world was not to Abraham or to his seed through the law, but through the righteousness of faith. 14 For if those who are of the law are heirs, faith is made void and the promise made of no effect,15 because the law brings about wrath; for where there is no law there is no transgression. 16 Therefore it is of faith that it might be according to grace, so that the promise might be sure to all the seed, not only to those who are of the law, but also to those who are of the faith of Abraham, who is the father of us all 17 (as it is written, “I have made you a father of many nations”) in the presence of Him whom he believed—God, who gives life to the dead and calls those things which do not exist as though they did; 18 who, contrary to hope, in hope believed, so that he became the father of many nations, according to what was spoken, “So shall your descendants be.” 19 And not being weak in faith, he did not consider his own body, already dead (since he was about a hundred years old), and the deadness of Sarah’s womb. 20 He did not waver at the promise of God through unbelief, but was strengthened in faith, giving glory to God, 21 and being fully convinced that what He had promised He was also able to perform. 22 And therefore “it was accounted to him for righteousness.” 23 Now it was not written for his sake alone that it was imputed to him, 24 but also for us. It shall be imputed to us who believe in Him who raised up Jesus our Lord from the dead, 25 who was delivered up because of our offenses, and was raised because of our justification.

Believing the Unbelievable

Click here for the bulletin

Sixth Sunday After Pentecost

Sunday, July 20, 2014 (9:00 a.m.)

Opening Hymn 742 (WS) – “Praise, My Soul, the King of Heaven!”

The Invocation

P: Dearly beloved, we have come together in the presence of God our heavenly Father, to render thanks for the great benefits that we have received at His hand, to set forth His most worthy praise, to hear His holy Word, and to ask for ourselves and on behalf of others, those things that are necessary for life and salvation. O come, let us worship and bow down before Him. Let us confess our sins with penitent hearts and obtain forgiveness by His infinite grace and mercy.

C: Almighty and most merciful God, we have strayed from Your ways like lost sheep. We have followed the devices and desires of our hearts. We have offended against Your holy law. We have done those things which we should not have done, and we have not done those things we should have done. Have mercy on us, O Lord! Spare us and restore us, according to the promises You have declared to us in Jesus Christ, our Lord. For his sake grant that we may live a godly and righteous life, to the glory of Your holy Name.

P: The almighty and merciful Lord has granted us pardon and forgiveness of all our sins, grace for true repentance and amendment of life, and the comfort of the Holy Spirit. Amen.

I am trusting Thee for pardon;  At Thy feet I bow,
For Thy grace and tender mercy  Trusting now.
[TLH 428 v 2]

I am trusting Thee for cleansing  In the crimson flood;
Trusting Thee to make me holy  By Thy blood.
[TLH 428 v 3]

The Scripture Readings – Genesis 15:1-6 & Matthew 9:9-13

I am trusting Thee to guide me;  Thou alone shalt lead,
Ev’ry day and hour supplying  All my need.
[TLH 428 v 4]

I am trusting Thee, Lord Jesus;  Never let me fall.
I am trusting Thee forever  And for all.
[TLH 428 v 6]

The Apostles Creed (Page 12 in Hymnal)

I believe in God the Father almighty, Maker of heaven and earth; And in Jesus Christ, his only Son, our Lord, Who was conceived by the Holy Ghost, born of the virgin Mary, suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, dead and buried; He descended into hell; The third day he rose again from the dead; He ascended into heaven And sitteth on the right hand of God the Father almighty; From thence He shall come to judge the quick and the dead. I believe in the Holy Ghost, the holy Christian Church, the communion of saints; the forgiveness of sins; the resurrection of the body and the life everlasting. Amen.

Hymn 373 (v 1-5) – “By Grace I’m Saved, Grace Free and Boundless”

1. By grace I’m saved, grace free and boundless;
My soul, believe and doubt it not.
Why stagger at this word of promise?
Hath Scripture ever falsehood taught?
Nay; then this word must true remain;
By grace thou, too, shalt heav’n obtain.

2. By grace! None dare lay claim to merit;
Our works and conduct have no worth.
God in His love sent our Redeemer,
Christ Jesus, to this sinful earth;
His death did for our sins atone,
And we are saved by grace alone.

3. By grace! Oh, mark this word of promise
When thou art by thy sins opprest,
When Satan plagues thy troubled conscience,
And when thy heart is seeking rest.
What reason cannot comprehend
God by His grace to thee doth send.

4. By grace God’s Son, our only Savior,
Came down to earth to bear our sin.
Was it because of thine own merit
That Jesus died thy soul to win?
Nay, it was grace, and grace alone,
That brought Him from His heavenly throne.

5. By grace! This ground of faith is certain;
So long as God is true, it stands.
What saints have penned by inspiration,
What in His Word our God commands,
What our whole faith must rest upon, Is Grace alone, grace in His Son.

The Sermon..……………………………….. Romans 4:13-25 (NKJV)

13 For the promise that he would be the heir of the world was not to Abraham or to his seed through the law, but through the righteousness of faith. 14 For if those who are of the law are heirs, faith is made void and the promise made of no effect,15 because the law brings about wrath; for where there is no law there is no transgression. 16 Therefore it is of faith that it might be according to grace, so that the promise might be sure to all the seed, not only to those who are of the law, but also to those who are of the faith of Abraham, who is the father of us all 17 (as it is written, “I have made you a father of many nations”) in the presence of Him whom he believed—God, who gives life to the dead and calls those things which do not exist as though they did; 18 who, contrary to hope, in hope believed, so that he became the father of many nations, according to what was spoken, “So shall your descendants be.” 19 And not being weak in faith, he did not consider his own body, already dead (since he was about a hundred years old), and the deadness of Sarah’s womb. 20 He did not waver at the promise of God through unbelief, but was strengthened in faith, giving glory to God, 21 and being fully convinced that what He had promised He was also able to perform. 22 And therefore “it was accounted to him for righteousness.” 23 Now it was not written for his sake alone that it was imputed to him, 24 but also for us. It shall be imputed to us who believe in Him who raised up Jesus our Lord from the dead, 25 who was delivered up because of our offenses, and was raised because of our justification.

Believing the Unbelievable

“Create In Me” (Page 12 in Hymnal)

Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me,
Cast me not away from Thy presence; and take not Thy Holy Spirit from me.
Restore unto me the joy of thy salvation; and uphold me with Thy free spirit.

Hymn 375 – “If Thy Beloved Son, O God”

1. If Thy beloved Son, O God, Had not to earth descended
And in our mortal flesh and blood Had not sin’s power ended,
Then this poor, wretched soul of mine In hell eternally would pine
Because of its transgression.

2. But now I find sweet peace and rest, Despair no more reigns o’er me;
No more am I by sin opprest, For Christ has borne sin for me.
Upon the cross for me He died That, reconciled, I might abide
With Thee, my God, forever.

3. I trust in Him with all my heart; Now all my sorrow ceases;
His words abiding peace impart, His blood from guilt releases.
Free grace through Him I now obtain; He washes me from every stain,
And pure I stand before Him.

4. All righteousness by works is vain, The Law brings condemnation;
True righteousness by faith I gain, Christ’s work is my salvation.
His death, that perfect sacrifice, Has paid the all-sufficient price;
In Him my hope is anchored.

5. My guilt, O Father, Thou hast laid On Christ, Thy Son, my Savior.
Lord Jesus, Thou my debt hast paid And gained for me God’s favor.
O Holy Ghost, Thou Fount of grace, The good in me to Thee I trace;
In faith do Thou preserve me.

The Offering

Our Prayer And The Lord’s Prayer

Our Father, Who art in heaven. Hallowed be Thy Name. Thy kingdom come. Thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread. And forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us. And lead us not into temptation. But deliver us from evil. For Thine is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever and ever. Amen.

Benediction ♫ Amen, Amen, Amen

Closing Hymn 378 “All that I Was, My Sin, My Guilt”

1. All that I was, my sin, my guilt, My death, was all my own;
All that I am I owe to Thee, My gracious God, alone.

2. The evil of my former state Was mine, and only mine;
The good in which I now rejoice Is Thine, and only Thine.

3. The darkness of my former state, The bondage, all was mine;
The light of life in which I walk, The liberty, is Thine.

4. Thy Word first made me feel my sin, It taught me to believe;
Then, in believing, peace I found, And now I live, I live!

5. All that I am, e’en here on earth, All that I hope to be,
When Jesus comes and glory dawns, I owe it, Lord, to Thee.

Silent Prayer and Announcements

 

