The Sermon: Philippians 4:8-13

8 Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things. 9 The things which you learned and received and heard and saw in me, these do, and the God of peace will be with you. 10 But I rejoiced in the Lord greatly that now at last your care for me has flourished again; though you surely did care, but you lacked opportunity. 11 Not that I speak in regard to need, for I have learned in whatever state I am, to be content: 12 I know how to be abased, and I know how to abound. Everywhere and in all things I have learned both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need. 13 I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

God Gives us the Ability To …

1. Meditate on the things of God
2. Rejoice in helping others
3. Find Peace in this world
4. Be content in any situation
5. Do Anything!

Click here for the bulletin

19th Sunday After Pentecost

Sunday, October 19, 2014 (9:00 a.m.)

Hymn 8 – “Father, Who the Light This Day” (see Hymnal Insert)

The Order of Service…………………………………….. WS Setting 1, Pg 1-6
(see Service of Word and Sacrament Setting 1 booklet)

The Scripture Reading – Isaiah 25:6-9

All peoples are invited to God’s eternal feast – what an amazing picture of the joy and peace that we have waiting for us!

Gospel Reading – Matthew 22:1-14

If God invited so many people to his eternal banquet, why do so few actually attend? Leave it to human nature to drag its feet, make excuses, or try to get in while dressed in its own rebellion! Many are called, but few are chosen.

The Apostles Creed

Hymn 425 – “All Depends on Our Possessing” (see Hymnal Insert)

The Sermon ……………………………………………………. Philippians 4:8-13

8 Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things. 9 The things which you learned and received and heard and saw in me, these do, and the God of peace will be with you. 10 But I rejoiced in the Lord greatly that now at last your care for me has flourished again; though you surely did care, but you lacked opportunity. 11 Not that I speak in regard to need, for I have learned in whatever state I am, to be content: 12 I know how to be abased, and I know how to abound. Everywhere and in all things I have learned both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need. 13 I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

God Gives us the Ability To …

1. Meditate on the things of God
2. Rejoice in helping others
3. Find Peace in this world
4. Be content in any situation
5. Do Anything!

Hymn 535 (v. 1-3, 9) – “Rejoice, My Heart, Be Glad and Sing” 

(see Hymnal Insert)

Offering, Prayers and The Lord’s Prayer

Our Father, Who art in heaven. Hallowed be Thy Name. Thy kingdom come. Thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread. And forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us. And lead us not into temptation. But deliver us from evil. For Thine is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever and ever. Amen.

Benediction ♫ Amen, Amen, Amen

Closing Hymn 72 – “Rejoice, Rejoice Believers” (see Hymnal Insert)

Silent Prayer And Announcements

