The Sermon:  Ephesians 3:14-21 (NKJV)

14 For this reason I bow my knees to the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, 15 from whom the whole family in heaven and earth is named, 16 that He would grant you, according to the riches of His glory, to be strengthened with might through His Spirit in the inner man, 17 that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith; that you, being rooted and grounded in love, 18 may be able to comprehend with all the saints what is the width and length and depth and height— 19 to know the love of Christ which passes knowledge; that you may be filled with all the fullness of God. 20 Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us, 21 to Him be glory in the church by Christ Jesus to all generations, forever and ever. Amen.

God’s Love Is Our Sure Foundation

Click here for bulletin

21st Sunday After Pentecost

Sunday, November 2, 2014 (9:00 a.m.)

Opening Hymn 385 (v 1-5) “Now I Have Found the Firm Foundation”

The Invocational Prayer

The Scripture Reading – Colossians 1:9-20

9 For this reason we also, since the day we heard it, do not cease to pray for you, and to ask that you may be filled with the knowledge of His will in all wisdom and spiritual understanding; 10 that you may walk worthy of the Lord, fully pleasing Him, being fruitful in every good work and increasing in the knowledge of God; 11 strengthened with all might, according to His glorious power, for all patience and longsuffering with joy; 12 giving thanks to the Father who has qualified us to be partakers of the inheritance of the saints in the light. 13 He has delivered us from the power of darkness and conveyed us into the kingdom of the Son of His love, 14 in whom we have redemption through His blood, the forgiveness of sins. 15 He is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn over all creation. 16 For by Him all things were created that are in heaven and that are on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or dominions or principalities or powers. All things were created through Him and for Him. 17 And He is before all things, and in Him all things consist. 18 And He is the head of the body, the church, who is the beginning, the firstborn from the dead, that in all things He may have the preeminence. 19 For it pleased the Father that in Him all the fullness should dwell,20 and by Him to reconcile all things to Himself, by Him, whether things on earth or things in heaven, having made peace through the blood of His cross.

The Nicene Creed (Page 22 in Hymnal)

I believe in one God, the Father Almighty, Maker of heaven and earth, and of all things visible and invisible.

And in one Lord Jesus Christ, the only-begotten Son of God, begotten of His Father before all worlds; God of God, Light of Light, very God of very God; begotten, not made, being of one substance with the Father, by whom all things were made. Who, for us men and for our salvation, came down from heaven, and was incarnate by the Holy Ghost of the virgin Mary, and was made man; and was crucified also for us under Pontius Pilate; He suffered and was buried; and the third day He rose again, according to the Scriptures; and ascended into heaven, and sitteth on the right hand of the Father; and He shall come again, with glory, to judge both the quick and the dead; whose kingdom shall have no end.

And I believe in the Holy Ghost, the Lord and Giver of Life; who proceedeth from the Father and the Son; who with the Father and the Son together is worshipped and glorified; who spake by the prophets. And I believe one holy Christian and Apostolic Church. I acknowledge one Baptism for the remission of sins; and I look for the resurrection of the dead, and the life of the world to come. Amen.

Hymn 385 (v 6-10) “Though I Be Robbed of Every Pleasure”

  1. Though I be robbed of every pleasure
    That makes my soul and body glad
    And be deprived of earthly treasure
    And be forsaken, lone, and sad,
    Though my desire for help seem vain,
    His mercy shall with me remain.
  2. Though earthly trials should oppress me
    And cares from day to day increase;
    Though earth’s vain things should sore distress me
    And rob me of my Savior’s peace;
    Though I be brought down to the dust,
    Still in His mercy I will trust.
  3. When all my deeds I am reviewing,
    The deeds that I admire the most,
    I find in all my thought and doing
    That there is naught whereof to boast,
    Yet this sweet comfort shall abide–
    In mercy I can still confide.
  4. Let mercy cause me to be willing
    To bear my lot and not to fret.
    While He my restless heart is stilling,
    May I His mercy not forget!
    Come weal, come woe, my heart to test,
    His mercy is my only rest.
  5. I’ll stand upon this firm foundation
    As long as I on earth remain;
    This shall engage my meditation
    While I the breath of life retain;
    And then, when face to face with Thee,
    I’ll sing of mercy, great and free.

The Sermon……………………………………….. Ephesians 3:14-21 (NKJV)

14 For this reason I bow my knees to the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, 15 from whom the whole family in heaven and earth is named, 16 that He would grant you, according to the riches of His glory, to be strengthened with might through His Spirit in the inner man, 17 that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith; that you, being rooted and grounded in love, 18 may be able to comprehend with all the saints what is the width and length and depth and height— 19 to know the love of Christ which passes knowledge; that you may be filled with all the fullness of God. 20 Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us, 21 to Him be glory in the church by Christ Jesus to all generations, forever and ever. Amen.

God’s Love Is Our Sure Foundation

The Offering

Our Confession And Divine Absolution

Hymn 385 “Thy Table I Approach”

The Consecration Of The Elements

The Distribution of the Lord’s Supper

(Because God’s Word presents the reception of this Sacrament as a most intimate expression of spiritual and confessional unity, we ask that only those who have publicly professed such oneness of faith and belief with us by membership at Berea or another CLC church come forward. Please speak with pastor if you are seeking a church home or have any questions.)

Our Prayer And The Lord’s Prayer

Our Father, Who art in heaven. Hallowed be Thy Name. Thy kingdom come. Thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread. And forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us. And lead us not into temptation. But deliver us from evil. For Thine is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever and ever. Amen.

The Closing Hymn 427 (v 1, 2, 7) – “How Firm a Foundation, Ye Saints of the Lord”

