The Sermon…………………………………………….. Deuteronomy 18:15-20

15 “The Lord your God will raise up for you a Prophet like me from your midst, from your brethren. Him you shall hear, 16 according to all you desired of the Lord your God in Horeb in the day of the assembly, saying, ‘Let me not hear again the voice of the Lord my God, nor let me see this great fire anymore, lest I die.’ 17 “And the Lord said to me: ‘What they have spoken is good. 18 I will raise up for them a Prophet like you from among their brethren, and will put My words in His mouth, and He shall speak to them all that I command Him. 19 And it shall be that whoever will not hear My words, which He speaks in My name, I will require it of him. 20 But the prophet who presumes to speak a word in My name, which I have not commanded him to speak, or who speaks in the name of other gods, that prophet shall die.’

Who Do You Listen To? And Why?

Click here for the bulletin

Fourth Sunday After Epiphany

Sunday, February 1, 2015 (9:00 a.m.)

Hymn 242 – “Father of Heaven, Whose Love Profound”

The Liturgy (Hymnal, Pages 15)

Scripture Reading – Mark 1:21-28
Jesus here fulfills His role as prophet, teaching the people of His time about what He came to do. His preaching was also accompanied by miraculous acts of power that provided the proof that He did in fact come from God.

Scripture Reading – 1 Corinthians 8:1-13
While people around us are telling us to always stand up for our rights, Paul describes how God would have us live. It’s a way for us to show love for our fellow Christians, and reflect the love of our Savior.

The Nicene Creed (Hymnal, Page 22)

Hymn 287 (v. 1, 11, 12) “That Man a Godly Life Might Live”

The Sermon…………………………………………….. Deuteronomy 18:15-20

15 “The Lord your God will raise up for you a Prophet like me from your midst, from your brethren. Him you shall hear, 16 according to all you desired of the Lord your God in Horeb in the day of the assembly, saying, ‘Let me not hear again the voice of the Lord my God, nor let me see this great fire anymore, lest I die.’ 17 “And the Lord said to me: ‘What they have spoken is good. 18 I will raise up for them a Prophet like you from among their brethren, and will put My words in His mouth, and He shall speak to them all that I command Him. 19 And it shall be that whoever will not hear My words, which He speaks in My name, I will require it of him. 20 But the prophet who presumes to speak a word in My name, which I have not commanded him to speak, or who speaks in the name of other gods, that prophet shall die.’

Who Do You Listen To? And Why?

Hymn 367 – “Hail, Thou Once Despised Jesus”

Our Epiphany Offering

The Distribution Of The Sacrament

(Because God’s Word presents the reception of this Sacrament as a most intimate expression of spiritual and confessional unity, we ask that only those who have publicly professed such oneness of faith and belief with us by membership at Berea or another CLC church come forward. Please speak with pastor if you are seeking a church home or have any questions.)

The Lord’s Benediction

Hymn 45 – Now, the Hour of Worship O’er” ©1941, CPH

Silent Prayer And Announcements

