The Sermon: John 10:11-18

11 “I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd gives His life for the sheep. 12 But a hireling, he who is not the shepherd, one who does not own the sheep, sees the wolf coming and leaves the sheep and flees; and the wolf catches the sheep and scatters them. 13 The hireling flees because he is a hireling and does not care about the sheep. 14 I am the good shepherd; and I know My sheep, and am known by My own. 15 As the Father knows Me, even so I know the Father; and I lay down My life for the sheep. 16 And other sheep I have which are not of this fold; them also I must bring, and they will hear My voice; and there will be one flock and one shepherd. 17 “Therefore My Father loves Me, because I lay down My life that I may take it again. 18 No one takes it from Me, but I lay it down of Myself. I have power to lay it down, and I have power to take it again. This command I have received from My Father.”

Jesus is the Only Shepherd the Sheep Need

  1.   Only He dies to pay for the pasts on earth of His sheep
  2.  Only He lives to secure the futures of heaven for His sheep

Third Sunday of Easter

Sunday, April 19, 2015 (9:00 a.m.)

Opening Hymn 436 – “The Lord’s My Shepherd, I’ll Not Want”

The Invocation And Easter Litany

P: O Lord God, our Strength, our Song and our Salvation, You fulfilled Your promises by the resurrection of Your Son, Jesus Christ, from the dead.

C: Thanks be to God! You give us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.

P: In Your compassion You sent Christ, the Good Shepherd, Who laid down His life to rescue the lost.

C: Drive out all doubt and gloom that we may delight in Your glorious triumph.

P: Lift our eyes heavenward to see Him Who lives to make intercession for the saints, and grant us confidence in the greatness of His power. Keep before us the vision of Your redeemed people standing before Your throne and singing the song of victory.

C: Worthy is the lamb Who was slain to receive wisdom and power and honor and glory and praise.

P: Make us instruments of Your peace as we bring the Good News of hope and new life to those around us. Guide us in the use of all that You have entrusted to us: our time, our talents and our treasures.

C: Risen Lord, live in us that we may live for You.

P: Merciful Lord Jesus, grant healing to the sick, and strengthen the faith of the suffering and the dying. Assure them of Your abiding presence and comfort them with the hope of eternal life.

C: Alleluia! Thanks be to God! Amen.

Sing Response Hymn LSB 477 v 2-3

The Scripture Readings – Acts 4:23-33; I John 3:1,2; Psalm 23

The Apostles Creed (Page 12 in Hymnal)

I believe in God the Father almighty, Maker of heaven and earth; And in Jesus Christ, his only Son, our Lord, Who was conceived by the Holy Ghost, born of the virgin Mary, suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, dead and buried; He descended into hell; The third day he rose again from the dead; He ascended into heaven And sitteth on the right hand of God the Father almighty; From thence He shall come to judge the quick and the dead. I believe in the Holy Ghost, the holy Christian Church, the communion of saints; the forgiveness of sins; the resurrection of the body and the life everlasting. Amen.

Hymn 51 “Now May He Who From The Dead”

The Sermon………………………………………………………….. John 10:11-18

11 “I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd gives His life for the sheep. 12 But a hireling, he who is not the shepherd, one who does not own the sheep, sees the wolf coming and leaves the sheep and flees; and the wolf catches the sheep and scatters them. 13 The hireling flees because he is a hireling and does not care about the sheep. 14 I am the good shepherd; and I know My sheep, and am known by My own. 15 As the Father knows Me, even so I know the Father; and I lay down My life for the sheep. 16 And other sheep I have which are not of this fold; them also I must bring, and they will hear My voice; and there will be one flock and one shepherd. 17 “Therefore My Father loves Me, because I lay down My life that I may take it again. 18 No one takes it from Me, but I lay it down of Myself. I have power to lay it down, and I have power to take it again. This command I have received from My Father.”

Jesus is the Only Shepherd the Sheep Need

  1.   Only He dies to pay for the pasts on earth of His sheep
  2.  Only He lives to secure the futures of heaven for His sheep

“Create In Me” pg 12

Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me,
Cast me not away from Thy presence; and take not Thy Holy Spirit from me.
Restore unto me the joy of Thy salvation; and uphold me with Thy free spirit.

Hymn WS 783 – “Jesus, Shepherd of the Sheep”

1 Jesus, Shepherd of the sheep,  Who your Father’s flock does keep,
Safe we wake and safe we sleep,  Guarded still by you.

2 In your promise firm we stand;  None can take us from your hand.
Speak! We hear! At your command,  We will follow you.

3 By your blood our souls were bought;  By your life salvation wrought;
By your light our feet are taught,  Lord, to follow you.

4 Father, draw us to your Son;  We with joy will follow on
Till the work of grace is done,  There to live with you.

Our Gifts Of Faith And Thanksgiving

The Lord’s Prayer And Benediction ♫ Amen, Amen, Amen

Closing Hymn 201 (V 1-2, 5) – “Jesus Lives! The Victory’s Won”

Silent Prayer And Announcements

